Webinar

The Need for Both Empathy and ‘Tough Love’ in Eating Disorder Interventions

  • Webinar
  • 2 May, 2019 - 2 May, 2019

By By Shannon Calvert, consumer leader in recovery .

Shannon will discuss her own experiences, illustrating when practices have been detrimental vs helpful and will outline some recommendations for treatment:

a) Where challenging and confronting interventions are deemed necessary, application must be in the context of life-saving/life-enhancing intervention;

b) The importance of treatment at all levels of care being guided by empathy, compassion and open, honest communication;

c) Providing the individual (and carer) with a clear rationale for using the intervention(s) and the risks of not doing so.

In conclusion, ‘tough love’ can be necessary in treatment and, so is the equal importance of compassion and dignity towards the individual.

Time:

​1pm (AEST)

Thursday 2 May, 2019

3pm New Zealand

1pm NSW, ACT, VIC, TAS, QLD

12:30am SA, NT

11am WA, Singapore, Hong Kong,

5am South Africa